Benefits of the OSI Reference Model

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) developed a seven-layer model called the Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) Reference Model to help vendors and network experts learn how data transmits between two devices in a network.

ISO developed the OSI Reference model.

OSI Reference Model helps networking device manufacturers to implement new network standards and policies.

It also helps network administrators reduce the complexity of networks and makes it easier to troubleshoot networking issues.

What is The Importance of the OSI Reference Model?

The introduction of the OSI reference model was a revolution. Before it, device manufacturers did not have a common standard. So, there was no hope of interoperability between devices from different companies.

OSI Model Brings a common standard.

Now you can see how critical was the introduction of the OSI reference model.

Seven Layers of OSI Reference Model

There are seven layers in the OSI Reference Model. Each layer has a specific role in data communication. A network engineer must learn the importance and functions of each layer in detail.

Seven layers of the OSI reference model are listed below.

  1. Physical layer

  2. Data link layer

  3. Network layer

  4. Transport layer

  5. Session layer

  6. Presentation layer

  7. Application layer

What is The Need For the OSI Reference Model?

I explained the need for a common standard before. Let me explain it in detail. There was no common standard before the Open System Interconnection (OSI) Reference Model.

It forced the user to stick with a single vendor for all his networking needs because devices from different vendors were incompatible. The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) introduced the seven-layer OSI architecture to overcome it.

OSI Reference Model tells how to connect and configure a network. It helps vendors to make products with universal standards.

Benefits of the OSI Reference Model

The benefits of the OSI Reference Model in a computer network are listed below.

  1. OSI Reference Model promotes interoperability by defining the process of connecting two layers.

  2. By dividing a network into layers, we split complex network activities into simple components.

  3. Helps vendors to follow a modular design.